logo

de  uk  cz  pl

Zittauer Gebirge

The smallest low mountain range of Germany located in the heart of Europe

Logo
links
           
the mountains
region
history
geography
photo
place of interest
in the mountains
in the immediate vicinity
other vicinity
recreation
hiking
climp
bicycle tours
water sports
other
contact
legal notice

History

In the 6th and 7th Centuries the Slavic tribe of the Milzener settled the area. King Heinrich I defeated them in 923, and so began the German settlement. The land belongs to Mark Meissen, and was at times Polish, at times Bohemian. At this time, the local castle of (Bautzen) stood as the border. In 1253 the biggest part the Upper Lusatians fell to the district of Brandenburg.

In 1346 Görlitz, Lauban, Löbau, Bautzen, Zittau and Kamenz founded the Six Cities Alliance as a land peace group. Now parts of the upper Lusatians belongs to Bohemia and gets by cloth production and trade. 1526 the Upper Lusatians (whose name had held since 15th Cent.) as the Bohemia land connection to Austria. As the Reformation grasped the towns, the Sorbian population remained partly Catholic. Subsequently came the (hard times) with the decline of the cloth production.

From 1635 the electors receive the Upper Lusatian as a fief from Saxony. The whole country then suffered from the Thirty Years War. Afterwards Zittau experienced a period of bloom by way of linen production. In the 18th Century the Seven Year Old war hit the whole region (from 1756-1763). In 1815 the eastern part of the Upper Lusatian was integrated into the Russian province of Silesia, the rest remained with Saxony.

From 1850 on, the Upper Lusatian developed into a significant industrial region. After the Second World War the areas situated to the east of the ?Neiße?(river) became part of Poland in 1945, and the western part came under Soviet occupation.

In 1952 Saxony is dissolved and the area becomes a part of the German Democratic Republic district in Dresden. The (intensely pursued brown coal industry) then changed the scenery. Since 1990 the Upper Lusatian has been a part of the newly-founded Free State of Saxony. Today, because of the opening of the borders excursions and wanderings are also again possible in the scenery beyond the Neiße and the Zittauer Gebirge.

logo

de  uk  cz  pl

Zittauer Gebirge

Das kleinste Mittelgebirge Deutschlands gelegen im Herzen Europas

Logo
links
           
Das Gebirge
Region
Geschichte
Geografie
Bilder
Sehenswertes
Ausflugtipps Gebirge
Ausflugtipps Umgebung
Weitere Umgebung
Freizeit
Wandern
Klettern
Radtouren
Wassersport
Sonstiges
Kontakt
Impressum

Geschichte

Im 6./7. Jahrhundert besiedelt der slawische Volksstamm der Milzener das Gebiet. König Heinrich I. besiegt diese 923 und die deutsche Besiedlung beginnt. Das Land gehört zur Mark Meißen, ist zeitweise polnisch und böhmisch. Zu dieser Zeit entsteht die Ortenburg (Bautzen) als Grenzfeste. 1253 fällt der größte Teil der Oberlausitz an Brandenburg.

Im Jahre 1346 gründen Görlitz, Lauban, Löbau, Bautzen, Zittau und Kamenz den Sechsstädtebund als Landfriedensverbund. Die Oberlausitz gehört nun zu Böhmen und kommt durch Tuchherstellung und Handel zu Wohlstand. 1526 kommt die Oberlausitz (Name seit dem 15. Jh.) als böhmisches Nebenland zu Österreich. Jetzt erfasst die Reformation die Städte, die sorbische Bevölkerung bleibt z.T. katholisch. In der Folge kommt es durch die Wirren zum Niedergang der Tuchmacherei.

Ab 1635 erhalten die Kurfürsten von Sachsen die Oberlausitz zu Lehen. Das ganze Land leidet unter dem 30-jährigen Krieg. Zittau erlebt anschließend durch seine Leinenproduktion eine Blütezeit. Im 18. Jahrhundert dann erschüttert der Siebenjährige Krieg (1756-1763) die ganze Region. 1815 wird der östliche Teil der Oberlausitz in die preußische Provinz Schlesien eingegliedert, der Rest bleibt bei Sachsen.

Ab 1850 entwickelt sich die Oberlausitz zu einer bedeutenden Industrieregion. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg kommen 1945 die östlich der Neiße gelegenen Gebiete zu Polen, der Westteil unter sowjetische Besatzung.

1952 wird das Land Sachsen aufgelöst und das Gebiet dem DDR-Bezirk Dresden eingeliedert. Der intensiv betriebene Braunkohleabbau verändert die Landschaft. Seit 1990 nun ist die Oberlausitz ein Teil des neugegründeten Freistaates Sachsen. Durch die Öffnung der Grenzen sind heute auch wieder Ausflüge und Wanderungen in die Landschaften jenseits der Neiße und des Zittauer Gebirges möglich.